How much space, how soon?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ack13, Jan 2, 2008.

1. ack13

ack13 New Egg

Jan 2, 2008
    I've been doing a lot of reading and research into caring for the 10 new chicks (its my first time) that will arrive in around a month...and while there are many great pictures of brooders to be had, I'm having trouble determining how fast my chicks will grow, and how soon their space requirements will change. At what size/age can I put them into the prepared coop?

A few more details- We will have standard Rhode Island Reds, Silverlaced Wyandottes, Orpingtons, and Blue Polish. Currently, I've been planning to start them in large quickly-replacable cardboard boxes with rounded insets and wire lids. They are going to be living in my basement, unheated but with lamps, until they are ready to be put into the hen house- which can be heated with lamps if need be. I live in the Bay Area in California- so while it is never really very cold, they will certainly need heat lamps until they are 4-6 weeks. Correct?

It would be fantastic if someone could post a few photos of their chicks at different weeks to give me a better idea of how big the birds will be...and how soon they will outgrow the boxes I've prepared for them! Thanks!

Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  2. silky ma

silky ma Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 14, 2007
    depending upon weather. If it is still cold out I would wait for the first month. Some breeds tollerate cold better than others. I raised 3 silkies in a home made brooder. I used a est. 24 gallon or 96 quart tote that I got from home depot. A wire top and put a heat lamp on a pole for them after hatching and a feather duster as a mom substitute.

Basic space per chicken is 2-4 square feet. The more room the less stress. Id say when pretty much fully feathered they can go into a coop . Just make sure to have a heat lamp set up in :/case they get cold.