How old do you think these chicks are?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kara1015, Apr 16, 2012.

1. kara1015

kara1015 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2012
    New Hampshire
    Newbie here -- got these 2 chicks at a 'swap' over the weekend. It was so hectic I forgot how old the man said they were, any guesses? They are RI reds, I hope! ;)

[​IMG][​IMG]

2. AZ_HenHouse

AZ_HenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2011
    They look alot like my 3 week old chicks in the feathering department.

3. FirewifeJess

FirewifeJess Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2012
    Gallifrey
    Yes, I would say 3 weeks old as well, since they very closely resemble my 3 week old RIRs :)

4. Kara.... If you can get a pic up without the red light, I can probably tell you what breed they are for certain. As far as age goes, everyone else got it.

5. kara1015

Feb 15, 2012
    New Hampshire
    I have them under a 250 watt heat bulb -- when can I stop doing this? We went the to swap to get pullets, and got talked into these two. Not sure it was a good idea, I'm worried about them! When will they be old enough to join the other girls?

6. j and bs hens

j and bs hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 29, 2012
    Vancouver Island
    You should reduce the heat by about 5 degrees a week, you can also lift the lamp. This will take some of the intensity off of the chicks. Are they inside your house or out in a shed/coop?

Do they go to the corner of the brooder away from the light? If they do, it's too warm for them.

Good luck with your chicks. (3 weeks old.... :))

7. kara1015

Feb 15, 2012
    New Hampshire