How soon after the Egg Song did you get an egg?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by huckleberryfarm, Jul 1, 2010.

1. huckleberryfarm

huckleberryfarm Chickenista

Jan 7, 2010
    Greenwood, SC
    Hi! I have one BMC and two Ameraucauna hens that are 24 weeks old. I was in the coop today with two of the hens (the roos were outside) when I'm almost positive they started the Egg Song. I peeked out and the main rooster was doing it too. I'm pretty new to chickens and only have one other hen laying. She's a Silkie and I've heard her do the Egg Song. I looked around for an egg after it ended but didn't see anything. I've noticed that the nest boxes have had someone in them but I haven't seen anyone in there yet.

Just curious if it might be time and how long? Gosh... I sound like I'm expecting a baby... how far apart are the contractions? Are you dilated? Waiting on an egg is stressful!!! [​IMG]

2. jen5680

jen5680 Southside Silkie Shack

Jun 18, 2009
    SW Ohio
    Lol!! My serama did that little song for about a week and a half and a few of my silkies did it for several weeks.
    Waiting can drive you crazy!!

3. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

There is a certain amount of practice before they actually lay eggs. The hormones kick in, they "play" at nesting, and sing the song. Pretty funny to watch a pullet toss shavings onto her own back, or dig around in a nest box to make it just perfect, and then not lay an egg. Gotta get it right, first.

And then they're still surprised and a first egg can often be found right smack dab in the middle of the coop on the floor, or out in the run, because they miscalculated!

4. huckleberryfarm

huckleberryfarm Chickenista

Jan 7, 2010
    Greenwood, SC