How soon to let the ducks out to play?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by CountryMom, Jun 24, 2008.

1. CountryMom

CountryMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2008
    South Texas
    Ok, I am new at raising ducks - chickens for that matter also! Anyhow, we received our ducks beginning of the month and have had them in a storage bin I made a brooder from our chicks. Then we moved them to a big rabbit wire cage so they could spread out. With our temps outside, we didn't need the heat lamp except for the first few nights. Anyhow, we have them in that cage at night and then attach it to a fenced playpen area during the day. My father in law warned me that they shouldn't get wet until they have more feathers. So how soon do I let them try their first attempt at swimming? And any other suggestions for housing until then? I cannot simply turn them loose just yet since we have several cats that would snatch them up real quick. Once they are bigger they will leave them alone.

Thanks!

2. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    If they are 3 weeks old you can let them play in water a little bit but not too long. The water needs to be shallow, I prefer luke warm, and with some sort of bricks or something so they can have steps in and out. 30 min a day to start is good initially.

They don't make enough oil to coat their feathers now to protect them from chilling water. Once they get chilled they can get ill. So I use warm water and short times actually swimming.

Without a momma duck to let them climb on when tired baby ducks can easy tire and drown. So check ont hem frequently or sit with them and enjoy their antics while they play for a limited time.