How Tall Should Coop Be...

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by High Mountain Chic, Mar 24, 2009.

1. High Mountain Chic

High Mountain Chic Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2009
    Leadville Colorado
    My brother-in-law and I are building my chicken coop and I have seen lots of great ideas on this site. My question is how tall should I make the coop? It should be noted that I live in Leadville CO at 10,000 ft... it is winter from Nov-May up here and the temps can get pretty low. So I know that keeping the coop warm is a must! I figured that the coop should probably not be as tall in order to keep the inside nice and toasty. Does anyone have any suggestions for a cold winter coop? THanks for your help!

2. Nugget

Nugget Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 2, 2007
    I'm no pro, but I'd make it tall enough to easily walk into without bending over. Imagine shovelling it out, you don't want to make maintenance any harder than it has to be!

I insulated my coop, with vapour barrier and while it stays nice and warm in there I've had some humidity problems, with mold. If you insulate, make sure you have more ventilation than you think you need.

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    If your winters are long and unpleasant, I'd make sure the coop is tall enough for you to stand and walk in easily, cuz it's going to be a lot more pleasant for you to be in *there* than outside [​IMG] (I.e. don't build just a reach-in coop)

It is actually easier to regulate temperature and ventilation (air quality) with a normal-height rather than short coop.