How to buy good marans? "Kelly Cratty" Marans?

Josie

Songster
12 Years
Jan 3, 2008
California
There is someone selling Marans chicks on craiglist, as "Kelly Cratty Cuckoo Marans ".
I don't plan on showing or breeding myself, but I do want to support breeders that are improving their breeds.

Is the "Kelly Cratty" line something to desire?

What can I do to ensure I am buying quality marans?

Hey Josie,

From what I've heard, Kelly Cratty's line is great! You should email Angi H. from CA Chickens if you are a member over there. She's bringing me a pullet from her K. C. pen and I believe she's got some chicks that she'll be selling at Fresno.

As for buying Quality Marans, look for well know breeders. Bev Davis has awesome Marans. If you buy from hatcheries, odds are the egg color wont be the best, and I've heard that Ideal sells Marans crossed with BRs. Im a novice with Marans, and Im just going by what I've read and heard. Oh, and Gina! I believe her SN is Ginasmarans. She's got nice Cuckoos, but I think she only sells hatching eggs. Good Luck!

FORGOT TO ADD: Just because they are being sold as Cratty Marans does NOT mean they are. Sometimes people that are just lookin for money will buy hatchery birds, find a well known breeder name, and sell their birds as that breeders birds. Its terrible, but it something that happens alot. I've heard it happening with Hattrick Silkies a lot, I believe. Make sure you ask for pics of the birds, and the eggs, and if possible, as to see the eggs in person if you meet with them. It would be terrible to get home and find out you got some BR X Marans mixes from a hatchery or somethin!

Last edited:
OEGman
Angie H is who posted the craiglist ad.
So can you vouch for her?
wink.png

OH!

Well then I'd say go for it,lol. I've never purchased birds from her, but she did bring me some Wildlife Warrior Wristbands at the Stockton show. We are both major Steve Irwin fans.
wink.png