How to Free Range

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by stevejr03, Apr 30, 2009.

1. stevejr03

stevejr03 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2009
    I am a newbie who just bought three 1yr old RIR's and am really happy with them. I want to be able to let them free range in my yard but am worried abour how to get them back into the coop at night. The first day I had them, they all got loose and it was really hard to catch them! I have a few questions about how to "free range..."

I have 1 1/2 acres that isn't totally fenced, but borders woods. Do I need to worry about them running away like a dog or will they stay close?

How do you train them to go back to the coop at night so they aren't eaten by predators?

Thanks!
    Steve

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Try locking them in the coop for about a week. Once you do start letting them out again, do so an hour or two before sundown. Increase the amount of outside time as they prove to you they know to go back in the coop in the evenings. After a week they should realize the coop is home and want to return to it to roost.
    Do you have a rooster? IMO, roosters are invaluable when you free range. He'll watch out for predators, keep the girls more or less rounded up and find the best places to forage.
    Welcome to BYC!

Last edited: Apr 30, 2009
  3. joebryant

joebryant Overrun With Chickens

Don't let them out of the coop for a few days. After that, if you don't have a run (you should have), put up some loose standing wire temporarily to keep them in a small space around the coop. They will more than likely go back into the coop when it begins to get dark. Lock the coop at night and don't let them out of the coop until late morning, about 10 A.M. After a few days, let them leave the temporarily wired area to free range. Call them in often during all this time with bird feed; they'll get used to coming running to your call.

4. stevejr03

Apr 30, 2009