How to get a chicken to STOP laying?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by sassifrassi, May 18, 2011.

1. sassifrassi

sassifrassi Out Of The Brooder

Sep 22, 2010
    Toronto
    I'm new at this...
    I am trying trouble shoot for November when I am planning on taking a vacation. I will have neighbors looking after my mini-flock but am concerned if they miss a day collecting eggs. I don't want my girls to start eating their eggs or sitting on crushed ones. I have automated pretty much everything else ( food/water). I would be happiest if my neighbors only had to make sure the girls were alive. (I'm planning on installing a web camera in the coop too.) Any thoughts on how to get them to stop or slow down? Am I being a kook?
    Thanks.

2. GAchick

GAchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2009
    Pembroke GA
    Can you modify your nesting boxes to allow the egg to roll to a lower level the hens could not get to? Maybe not to the outside, as that would provide entry to slinky type predators. But at least behind something to keep the girls away? Don't know where you are, but November should be cool enough that the eggs would stay 'fresh' for several days. Even if the people you have checking them are kept away due to unforseen occurences.

3. WKYChick

WKYChick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2011
    the only time I can think of when I hen stops laying is if she is sick, picked on by other hens, over crowded conditions, past her prime laying time or has been scared or startled.

You really can't stop a hen from laying once they start

I do have one hen that has stopped laying ever since the tornado went over us and things took flight that shouldn't have, talk about shake-n-bake chickens, and too she is an older hen with a bad leg:/

You can try a roll away nest box system, maybe some one else can post on how those work and how they are designed, they roll the egg out from under the hen into a collection area

4. Country Heart