1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How to get hen to lay in the nest box?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Daphne16, Jul 17, 2011.

1. Daphne16

Daphne16 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2011
    I am new at this 1 of my 20 week old production reds started laying last weekend I have gotten 5 eggs, but 4 of them have been broken. I check multiple times a day for eggs and to visit with my chickens. All of the eggs have been in the run and not in the nest box, so my question is how do I get her to lay in the nest box and not the run? I feed grower feed with oyster shells on the side right now because I have 11 week olds upto 20 week olds ( a total of 5 hens). They are not freeranged, but are let out for a little while to play with us.

2. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    It may help to put a couple of golf balls in the nesting box to give them the idea. Worked for me.

3. Daphne16

Mar 29, 2011
    I forgot to mention I have golfballs in the nest boxes. [​IMG]

4. Tenmore

Tenmore Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2011
    Ogden utah