how to introduce new chick to existing flock

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sandyjo, May 27, 2008.

1. sandyjo

sandyjo New Egg

May 27, 2008
    One of our hens hatched an egg and we found the chick running loose in our yard. I don't know how she got out of the coop! We brought her in and put her in a glass tank with a heat lamp. She has grown fast. She is about 8 weeks old now. I stopped using the heat lamp when she got all of her feathersI have been taking her outside during the day when it is warm but i don't know when she can go back in the coop with the rest of my chicken. No other chicks lived although the hen is setting again. I have six hen and one very handsome banty rooster.

2. Bird Hearder

Bird Hearder Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2008
    Salisbury, Md.
    I have read a few times to wait till the little one/s are about the same size.
    But I'm still a newbie

3. thechickenchick

thechickenchick Born city, Living country

Mar 8, 2008
    Eaton, Colorado
    Thats what I have read too. She might be getting lonley though:(. Maybe try it with supervision. Thats just a suggestion(and what I would do) but maybe someone has another idea.

4. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin
    I'm about to do the same thing and what I was told was to add them to a box with holes so the other chickens can see them and leave them in there for a day with food and water so the others will get used to them. Then try introducing them to the flock while you watch. I would make sure to have a few hours of time freed up so you can watch to see how they are getting along. Good luck!

5. ozark hen

ozark hen Living My Dream

Apr 4, 2007
    Mansfield, MO