How to keep my chickens combs from freezing?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Patches The Hen, Oct 27, 2011.

1. Patches The Hen

Patches The Hen Out Of The Brooder

Oct 26, 2011
    Hi,

I really need to know any tips on how keep my roosters and some hens combs from getting frostbite. It looks very painful, the comb turns black, then white, and then falls off. It happened last year so I want to prevent it from happening to my chickens this year. It is just starting to freeze where I live so please don't hesitate to answer quickly.

Thanks for your advice!

2. kimmypie

kimmypie Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2010
    Utah
    I don't have chickens yet but from what I've read here your coop needs to have a lot of ventilation to keep the air dry in the winter. Also, a little bit of vaseline on their combs. I'm not an expert though and I hope someone more knowledgable responds.

3. Patches The Hen

Oct 26, 2011
    My coop is well ventilated.

Oh, good idea [​IMG] I just wonder if the other chickens would peck at it or not....

Thank you so much!

4. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Ventilation, which are vents at the top of the coop, either through the roof or just under the roof, at the highest point, to let out humidity.

Frostbite is primarily caused by condensation, moisture which "frosts" on the comb and wattles. A dry coop rarely experiences frost bite, even at -30F.

5. Frenchchickens123

Frenchchickens123 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 25, 2010
    I used vaseline on my too last year and it does seem to help although it didn't get that cold last year maybe minus 10 degrees max but the comb wasn't so blue with it :)

6. Patches The Hen

Oct 26, 2011
    Fred's Hens :

Ventilation, which are vents at the top of the coop, either through the roof or just under the roof, at the highest point, to let out humidity.