1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

** How to know if chicks are male or female!!! **

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Shauna's Silkies, Jul 21, 2011.

1. Shauna's Silkies

Shauna's Silkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2011
    Ireland :D
    Hi all, How do u know if chicks are male or female!!!
    Please Help
    Thanks Shauna

2. kevs-chickadees

kevs-chickadees Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2011
    Mesa AZ
    That's a ? that comes with a lot of different answers. If they are from a hatchery most are bread to have long and short wing feathers to determine the sex. Some breeds are sex linked meaning the males are born one color and the females another. I believe as they begin to get their feathers the females will feather out quicker, I'm no expert and I'm sure someone else can give more info.

3. Shauna's Silkies

Jun 29, 2011
    Thanks hopefully!! haha

4. Shauna's Silkies

Jun 29, 2011
    Can Anyone help me Please!!! [​IMG]

5. Tanichca

Tanichca Sparkle Magnet

May 6, 2009
    Vail, Arizona
    Well, for a lot of breeds (especially silkies) you cannot know for sure until it crows or lays an egg. Baby chicks can only be sexed if the are sex-linked birds. Usually, a rooster will start developing larger, redder comb and waddles by about 5 weeks.

6. Shauna's Silkies

Jun 29, 2011
    Thanks so ill just wait and see!!!
    hopefully they are all hens!!
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

7. MuckyPuppy

MuckyPuppy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2011
    UK