How to let a broody hen raise chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chic Rustler, Feb 27, 2017.

1. Chic Rustler

Chic Rustler Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2017
    Texas
    Guys this may be a silly question, but im completely new at this. How do you deal with a broody hen? If i happen to find one sitting on eggs in her nest box can she be moved to a different location and more eggs added? My nest boxes are all 18 inches off the ground and i dont know if a chick could make the jump.

Do they need to be separated from the flock? A small run with in the run? Any information would be helpful. I hope to find ine of my hens are broody and to let her raise the chicks

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Ask 10 poultry keepers these questions and you'll get 11 different answers -- that's because there really is no one right way to approach this. Some folks will move the broody and her nest to an isolated location entirely separate from the flock, some folks will partition off an area within the coop for the broody, and her resulting chicks, to be in until such time the chicks are ready to be integrated into the flock and still others (myself included) let our broodies set, hatch and raise her chicks right in the coop/flock -- within that last group there are those who let her set where she chooses, and those that will relocate her to a different nest (ie a tub on the foor) out of an additional measure of safety for the chicks. Provided the floor is well bedded, chicks can leap from a surprising height and walk away like it was nothing (you should see videos of wood duck babies leaving the nest for the first time if you want to really see something).