How to move a nest?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Mylilchicks, Sep 26, 2010.

1. Mylilchicks

Mylilchicks New Egg

May 10, 2010
    I have a 5 and a half month old Rhode Island Red hen along with a bunch of other younger chickens who are all free range. This morning I found her on a nest in the barn (not her coop) with 11 eggs. I am super excited! But I don't want her in the barn laying eggs. How do I get her to lay in the coop? Do I move her eggs? She is my first layer so I am completely new at this. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! thanks!

2. BlackBart

BlackBart Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2009
    I move mine close to dusk as possible. I put her in nesting box/cage that she can't get out of. Never had a problem yet.

3. Mylilchicks

Mylilchicks New Egg

May 10, 2010
    So I should pick her up off her roost at night and put her in a cage with a nest? She is not sleeping on her nest, just laying on it some during the day. She still goes out with the other hens and roosters and roosts with them at night. I'm not sure how long she has been laying because her nest was very hidden up in the hayloft.

4. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Those eggs are not going to hatch if she's not sitting on them at night, anyway. That's too long off the eggs.

You have a half-broody chicken, maybe???

5. Lollipop

Lollipop Chillin' With My Peeps

Are you saying she is broody, or just laying another egg? Todays RIRs seldom set. If she`s just hiding her nest and not broody, lock her up for a few days in the coop. Put a few eggs in the proper nest and hope for the best. If she`s broody, move her at night and into a small pen on a few of her eggs. If she stays on the nest for 2 nights, remove those eggs(also at night) and replace them with fresh ones that you want her to hatch. Kinda tricky with many breeds, but doing it at night and with as little stress as possible usually works........Pop

6. BlackBart