How to physically take baby chicks outside for field trips?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jesubis, Mar 30, 2015.

1. jesubis

jesubis Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2015
    Ok, this may be a really dumb question, but I'm new at this! What's the best way to transport baby chicks outside into a temporary pen for a few minutes of play time and then take them back in? Thanks to a few instances of pasty butt, they're not thrilled at being picked up, and I'm afraid of one escaping from the pen and running away. Any advice?

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    How many? How old? If they're still small, and there's only a few, you could even put them in a paper bag, and fold the top over. Or you could put them in a box. Don't worry about them not wanting to get picked up. Just go about your business, do what you have to do. They may scream, but they'll thank you later.

3. jesubis

Mar 30, 2015
    There's five (we lost one, had six) and they're almost 3 weeks old. Starting to feather out really nicely and getting bored in their box!

4. MamaRudey

MamaRudey Chillin' With My Peeps

A 5 gallon bucket? LOL

5. jesubis

Mar 30, 2015
    Okay, so it's much simpler than I was making it out to be! LOL. We have another cardboard box that I've been putting them in when I change the shavings in their main container. We're thinking of cutting a drawbridge-style door in the cardboard box, taking the chicks in this box out to a pen made of chicken wire and plastic stakes, and opening the door so that they have a safe place to hide in at first. Then we can just put them back in the box and ferry them back inside.

6. jesubis

Mar 30, 2015
    Although I think the bucket wins for sheer simplicity :) Thank you!

7. GreenLove

GreenLove Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2015