HOW to raise Chicks in COLD southeast Nebraska??

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LittleMamaBigPapa, Apr 25, 2009.

1. LittleMamaBigPapa

LittleMamaBigPapa Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    Hello, I am brand new to BYC. I signed on to begin learning as much as I can about chickens prior to making a commitment. My husband and I have talked about having chickens for years, and now we feel we are ready. However, we have TWO main concerns.
    1. we are concerned about living within city limits. Recently, an article was in the Omaha World Hearld about a couple here in Bellevue, NE who have raised chickens on their lot for over 20 years. Suddenly, a retired police officer, turned city council member, has just placed an order on their door stating they have one week to get rid of the chickens. It turns out, the order was dropped because the ordinance he referenced does not apply, but the city attorneys are trying to see if another order exists to support the order. [​IMG] So, should we move ahead and get our Buff Orpingtons or wait and see how this plays out? We really dont want to move. 2. the other concern is making sure our coop will be adequate for the BITTER COLD weather here. Thank you in advance for your suggestions/support.

2. tabatha_westcott

tabatha_westcott Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2009
    Find out if you can have them first... It would be heartbreaking if you had to get rid of them after raising them. Our city says you can have up to 10. After that you need some kind of permit. Oh yeah welcome!

3. LittleMamaBigPapa

LittleMamaBigPapa Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    thank you Tabatha! I was hoping we could sneak them in, but you are so right; it would be so sad to be forced to get rid of them after the fact.

4. Chirpy

Chirpy Balderdash

May 24, 2007
    Colorado