how to sex barred rock 8wks-newbie here!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by jennybee, Apr 8, 2009.

1. jennybee

jennybee Out Of The Brooder

Mar 10, 2009
    so i am sending dh to get some 8wk barred rocks from a guy on craigslist, unsexed. what can i tell him to look for so i get pullets? help! thanks!

2. wundernurse

wundernurse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 26, 2009
    Atlanta
    by 8 weeks I would think that the combs on the roos will be pretty obvious. Stick with smaller yellower combs and waddles. Also, I think the girls tend to be a bit darker than the boys with less barring. There is also the black coloring down the front of the legs on the pullets. Good luck

3. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008
    Bryson City, NC
    Some things I've read re sexing BR's...a small distinct dot = hen and a very large or even 2 overlapping dots = roo. Also, re down color - very black = hen and more silvery/frosty color = roo. Finally, very dark color on front of legs = hen and little or no color on front of legs = roo. [​IMG] TaLani

4. jennybee

Mar 10, 2009
    thanks![​IMG]

5. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008
    Bryson City, NC
    You're most welcome! Hope you end up with a lot of hens and only one roo. [​IMG]

6. klf73

klf73 Mad Scientist

Jun 1, 2008
    Maine
    Quote:most of that only works on hatchlings, these are 8 weeks old [​IMG]

I believe pullet feathers are darker.....so tell him to look for the darkest ones with small(not red) combs and wattles.

Last edited: Apr 8, 2009
  7. WalkingOnSunshine

WalkingOnSunshine Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio
    At 8 weeks, it should be REALLY obvious. My chicks are three weeks, and I can already tell the roos. You can also look for really big feet and legs.

8. jennybee

Mar 10, 2009
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    ok, all four seem to have the same legs, black running up the front. don't know how good these pics are, but the combs seem to be yellow too. pullets?