How to strike a balance between healthy chickens and saving on feed?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by EMS2005, Dec 21, 2013.

1. EMS2005

EMS2005 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 19, 2013
    Georgia
    I apologize if this topic is covered a lot. I'm a newbie just perusing the forums. It's sounding like the highest monthly chicken cost is feed. I would plan on free-ranging chickens as much of the day as possible. I am home a lot, but not always able to be vigilant of my yard. I also live in west-central Georgia. So with the climate here and the free-ranging...what could I get by with feeding half a dozen laying hens to help them stay healthy, but not break the bank? I'm looking to replace white grocery store eggs in our diet without increasing (preferably decreasing) our monthly egg-related costs. I know this is a tall order and I'm curious if it's even possible. For what it's worth, based on a very cursory glance ad a few charts, I'm looking at Austorlorpe or Plymouth Rock breeds (any comments on that are welcome as well).

Thanks so much for any input. :)

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    When everything is factored in, the cost of 'home raised' eggs is generally higher than 'store bought', but the flavor and satisfaction is so far superior. Understand that if you free range you will eventually lose chickens to predation. You might allow free ranging supplemented with some feeding in the AM, and ad lib feeding at night to assure that the chickens are receiving adequate nutrition.

3. hallerlake

hallerlake Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2010
    Seattle
    You should also understand that if you skimp on their nutrition, they will skimp on eggs. Less nutrition, fewer eggs. It will take a little trial and error, but they will demonstrate how much feed they need. Free ranging will help on costs.

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]