1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How to tell age of chickens?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Taryns mawmaw, Jun 29, 2011.

1. Taryns mawmaw

Taryns mawmaw New Egg

Jun 6, 2011
    I'm also new to raising chickens and was wondering if anyone can tell me a way to know how old your chickens are. We rescued these chickens from a production farm and was told they are 15 months old which should make them in the peak of their egg producing but out of 37 chickens I'm only getting some times 10 eggs a day. [​IMG] I was hoping for at least 2 dozen a day. Our temperatures have been inconsistent within the last month. We've had some cool days and then the next day it may be in the 90s so we have put fans in the coop to be sure they are cool. Any help to know how old they are would be greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

For almost a certainty, production hens are not over 2 years of age, as that is the age when they are typically culled. The production hen taken out of a laying farm needs a little time to recover. There may be no way to know whether they ever had a molt. Some producers force a molt a one year and keep the hens a second year. Some cull at the end of 12-14 months and don't fuss with molting. It just all depends. I might take that 15 months you were quoted as being fairly accurate. Remember, these hens were likely under forced lighting and driven hard. 15 months sounds right if the producer didn't fuss with molting. Their production was likely dropping for the producer as well, thus the cull.