How to tell sex of Pekin ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by motleycrewRus, Jun 15, 2016.

1. motleycrewRus

motleycrewRus Just Hatched

Jun 15, 2016
    Hello,

I am brand new to this site. After finding it to be a valuable resource and info gathering, I decided to join up!
    I am new to raising ducks and chickens but not new to raising animals. I have hand-raised the ducklings and chicks to their current ages-which is about 3 months. We have 5 White Pekins which have grown rather large now. We have 4 Guinea Hens. 12 Chickens and 12 Ducks( combination of Pekins, Blue Swedish and Chocolate Indian Runners).
    My significant other is great with repurposing building materials and we converted a hay storage unit into a hen/duck house and using recycled pallets into a large backyard area complete with a large pool my kids used to use(grown up now).
    My question is this...at 3 months of age, none of my Pekins have drake feathers. The hatchery told me this was an unreliable way to test the sex as well as the color of their bills(2 have peach-colored bills and 3 have dark yellow). The voice thing is the most reliable but as new raiser of fowl...it is somewhat hard to tell. Originally, I believed my smallest one who is loud and bossy...herds and defends the 5 of them was a male...due to the "guarding" I have seen it do on a daily basis. Waits to eat last and herds/defends the other 4. The smallest one has a loud quack...almost like a honk of a goose!
    The other 4 are quite large and quieter with a softer quack, quack, quack. Some some hoarse. Some just sound like a quieter version of her. They stick closely together...have heard males can bond and stick together.
    At this point, I am not quite sure sex of my ducks. They all seem big enough to tell from size-but no drake feathers.