How to tell?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Farmerboy16, Jul 1, 2011.

1. Farmerboy16

Farmerboy16 Rebuilding my Farm

Dec 30, 2010
    Sparta, MI
    This is my first year on ducks, chickens 9 years, anyway I got Khaki Campbells, and Pekins on the first week of March, so they are 4 months old now, yesterday I saw the Khaki Campbell males trying to breed the females, so they must be close to egg laying, So my question is how can you tell when the duck is old enough to lay? I free range them, and can they be train to lay in the coop like chickens? Thanks for the help!

2. animalpro24

animalpro24 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    Oregon
    Usually ducks lay in the early mornings so if your letting them out around 6,7,or 8 they may lay their eggs outside. Can't answer your other question....sorry.

3. Oregon Blues

Oregon Blues Overrun With Chickens

Apr 14, 2011
    Central Oregon
    [[[......how can you tell when the duck is old enough to lay?.......]]]]

It's really easy to tell. When they are old enough to lay, they start laying eggs. Happens every time. It's 100% reliable method.

4. TLWR

TLWR Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    southern AL
    Quote:When you find a duck egg, you know they are old enough to lay [​IMG][​IMG]

as seen above, which I didn't notice when I posted lol

Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  5. animalpro24

animalpro24 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    Oregon
    Quote:When you find a duck egg, you know they are old enough to lay [​IMG][​IMG]

as seen above, which I didn't notice when I posted lol

Hahahaha! Exactly!!

6. gofasterstripe

gofasterstripe Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG]

7. Farmerboy16

Farmerboy16 Rebuilding my Farm

Dec 30, 2010
    Sparta, MI
    [​IMG] I know, but I want to move them to their permanent coop before they start laying, as they are in a brooder coop now. What I meant, do they show signs like a chicken's comb, wattles developments.

8. gofasterstripe

gofasterstripe Chillin' With My Peeps