How warm to move chicks outside to coop? (first time chicken mom)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by itsazoo, Feb 9, 2009.

1. itsazoo

itsazoo Out Of The Brooder

Jul 6, 2008
    Western PA
    I'm new to this and I've read a LOT but I can't find this answer.

I'm trying to figure out when to have my chicks shipped. I need to know how warm it has to be (at night) before I can move chicks permanently outside to their coop. They'll be the only chicks in a big coop. I could put a heat light in the coop. I can keep them inside for 2 months.

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Though it's not a straight answer, you can put your chicks out at any time as long as you can keep the temp. to the level appropriate for their age in a draft-free building.
    You need the temps to be 90 to 95 the first week, decreasing by five degrees a week, until you're down to 70 degrees and your chicks are mostly feathered out.
    There's nothing that says chicks have to be started in the house. By waiting until spring I was able to brood my chicks in a draft free shed; first with a oil filled electric heater and heat lamps and then just with their heat lamps.
    It's always a good idea to have two heat lamps in case one burns out they won't be freezing.

3. itsazoo

Jul 6, 2008
    Western PA
    Although my "to be" chicken coop is a very sound & sturdy building (built as a garden shed originally), I'm relatively certain that it's not draft free in any way. [​IMG]

I could probably put a heater in there too but after having our barn burn down mysteriously this summer, I'm leary.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2009
  4. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas