How worried should I be about parasites?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Egiroux, Dec 14, 2011.

1. Egiroux

Egiroux Out Of The Brooder

Dec 5, 2011
    Durham, ME
    I'm relatively new to the chicken world. I've only had my small backyard flock of 4 birds for a few weeks. Coming in to this I talked with a few folks to get information and advice and never got much sense of problems with fleas, lice, mites, or other health issues with birds. After reading on this site for a few weeks I'm getting kind of paranoid. Living in the cold northeast and with this small flock size, how worried do I need to be with this type of pest control? I'm reading a lot of people using DE as a preventative measure and it seems like there are lots of posts with people dealing with fleas/lice/mites. My goal is to keep these birds happy/healthy with as little non-natural intervention as possible. They're in a good clean, dry coop. I'd really like to not have to bring DE or any other preventative measure into the mix aside from general clean living conditions. However, I don't want to have sick, unhappy birds either. So, for those of you who have a small backyard flock like me should I be worried and more proactive with these types of pest situations? What would the primary cause of these types of ailments be - unsanitary coop conditions, mixing of new, previously infected birds? I welcome any advice or recommendations you may have.

2. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    This is my third winter with chickens, and so far no mites, lice or worms. The only thing I've done is dust the bottom of the nestboxes with poultry dust before putting in fresh bedding, and I replace the bedding frequently in the summer time because mites can be a problem here in North Texas then. We take fecal samples regularly to our vet for worm checks, and so far, so good.