Howdy Chicken Partners!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hogthehedge, Aug 29, 2016.

1. hogthehedge

hogthehedge New Egg

Aug 28, 2016
    I'm new to the whole backyard chicken hobby, but so far I love it way more than I initially thought I would. My husband and I recently moved to NoCo from Texas for the beauty, and because my hopes are to attend CSU's vet school, but I am in no hurry that is for sure!

We found a cute little place in Wellington and it was right around the time when the chicks arrived at the local hardware/feed store, Bomgaars. We couldn't resist as many of you know! We started with a Red-sex linked named Fry (or Red), a Brahma named Korma, and two wyandottes, Benny, aka Eggs Benedict, and Scrambles (but we can't tell them apart and because of their personalities we have dubbed them Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum). If you couldn't tell we named them all after chicken/egg dishes which may seem cruel or weird to some, but we have a dry or dark sense of humor so it amused us. A week or two went by and our friend mentioned to us that we needed two more "Colonel Sanders" and "General Tso" so we returned to Bomgaars and picked out an Ameraucana, The Colonel, and an Ancona, The General (And boy does she act like one).
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

Our flock started as couple day to week old chicks and we raised them in Rubbermaid containers with heat lamps inside our mud room since we A) didn't have a coop yet, and B) it was still very chilly when we moved up here. We had a few bouts of respiratory distress in Korma and a few others, but mostly Korma. So we separated her and treated them with a tetracycline based antibiotic we bought from the JAX home and ranch feed store. We treated them for 10 days and everyone seemed to get better, but Korma always seemed to have issues now and then.