Howdy! I'm new, please bear with me

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by kseabythec, Aug 2, 2013.

1. kseabythec

kseabythec Out Of The Brooder

Aug 2, 2013
    College Station, Texas
    (1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens? Yes, I'm new to chickens. We just moved to the country a year ago and getting chickens was first on my list of must-haves. I love my girls...it was horrible, awful when my group of 14 was narrowed down to 7 while they were free-ranging it in my fenced back area.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now? I have 7 girls. They just started laying July 8. We get between 4-6 eggs most days, although once, we managed to get 8. Not sure how that happened and two were soft and poorly formed.

(3) What breeds do you have? I have one gold-laced wyandotte (Popeye), 2 silver-laced wyandottes (Good and Crisp), 2 Rhode Island Reds (Cain and Layne), one buff orpington (Golden) and one plymouth barred rock (Dixie). Had at least two of each until the great "event".

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com? Stumbled upon it online searching for duck questions. I have 5 ducks, as well (had 6...one of my mallard hens met her demise at the hands of a coyote last week. Problem with living in the country, can't keep everyone 100% safe 100% of the time). My ducks mate like rabbits...but have not seen signs of any eggs, yet. We got them at Easter time. 2 pekins (one male, one female), 2 mallards (both hens, lost one last week) and 2 hybrids of the two (one male and one female).