Howdy! New girl here that has a chick with a dislocating knee joint :(

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mama_Vendredi, Aug 6, 2011.

1. Mama_Vendredi

Mama_Vendredi New Egg

Aug 6, 2011
    Hi everybody!
    I'm new to backyardchickens and I suppose I should introduce myself before I start asking for help!
    My name is Arianna, I'm entering my sophmore year of college to become a middle grades science teacher and I love my chickens. I got my first four chickens almost a year ago and four more shortly thereafter. I've got two silkies, a rhode island red, a leghorn, two amerucana mixes and a silkie leghorn mix. I had two silkie leghorn mixes but one turned out to be a rooster-which we found a new home for after he sired 13 adoreable little chicks.
    I got all of my chickens when they were around a month old. I raised them indoors until they were big enough to go outside and not get snatched by a hawk. 10 of my 13 chicks are outside with one of my silkies (who adopted all of them-only 4 are actually hers). The other three chicks are being raised by me indoors. They were too much younger than the other chicks my silkie adopted and so she rejected them. This leads me to my problem>
    One of the rejected chicks has a knee joint that refuses to stay in place. It seems like the ligament is too short and every time the chick tries to bend its knee it pops out of place. It doesn't seem to be in pain, but I feel so bad for the poor thing. Has anyone heard of this issue before and is there any way to fix it?
    Thanks guys!
    -Arianna

2. kidcody

kidcody Overrun With Chickens

[​IMG] [​IMG] from WA. glad you joined [​IMG] [​IMG] i haven't seen a chicken like that [​IMG]

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas