Howdy Y'all

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TwinMama2x, Jan 6, 2011.

1. TwinMama2x

TwinMama2x Out Of The Brooder

Jan 6, 2011
    Glasgow, Montana
    I'm Angie. I'm in NE Montana. I don't really talk like that but it's fun to pretend. [​IMG]

I am new to farming all the way around. I am originally from Seattle but married a homesick cowboy. Fast forward ten years and here I am with a newly purchased home (23 acres with 2 barns and several outbuildings). We bought the farm in October. First thing I did was get some chickens! 31 hens and 1 gander (his name is Duck, but I think he thinks he's a hen as I've photographed him trying to roost on the ladder roost I built for the girls.) I've got one pitiful looking hen who is inside the house right now. She's molting and dang near naked. My daughter is completely grossed out by her. Poor thing. Our weather is turning to crap again and we're supposed to get 10 more inches of snow (on top of the 40 inches we already have) and the temps are plummeting to -20F to -30F BEFORE wind chill. I can't have her turning into a hen-scicle.

In November I acquired a flock of 12 week old (or so) mallards who've just now began getting their colors so I now know I have 3 hens and 5 drakes. I have people asking for duck eggs when they start laying but I think I might let them hatch out the first year and then sell the eggs the following...not sure yet.

I've got 7 rabbits as well. Californians, New Zealand White and a couple Mini Lops. We have six more to add and another possible seven. We are breeding for meat and pets.

I have been lurking on the site here for a couple months now and thought I may as well make myself official and all. I am glad to have so much information available from people who have already experienced most everything I am certain will cross my fields here...

Looking forward to making lots of new friends!

2. StevenW.

StevenW. Lovin' My Quackers!

Oct 7, 2010
    Central, Illinois