HUGE Egg - Am I doing this right?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by lsualumna, Jul 31, 2011.

1. lsualumna

lsualumna Out Of The Brooder

Jul 28, 2011
    I am new to raising chickens and in the Spring purchased two golden comets, two RR, and two barred rocks (one did not make it). My husband has tolerated my new found obsession with my girls and last week, my golden comet, Liz laid her first egg. I didn't know what to expect, but after reading posts and various information, I'm quite proud of her. Her first eggs were well within the "medium" category, not the pullet-sized (or marble sized) eggs that some have reported getting. Now my other golden comet, Emma, started laying on Friday, with medium-sized eggs as well. This morning I went out to check on my girls and heard Liz in the coop, then she came out when she heard me. When I went in I found this HUGE egg in the nest. I was somewhat dumbfounded. I brought it into the house and I can't even close an egg carton lid on it!

Is this usual to have eggs this big right from the start? Maybe I'm doing something right? I'm not complaining, mind you - by any stretch, but I'd like to get some feedback on what I'm doing right in order to keep it up.

I have recently finished giving them the grower/finisher food and have started on layer rations. Oyster shell and grit. I give them plenty of cracked corn (almost on a daily basis), hang cabbages from the ceiling of their run, (can't free range as I have way too much wildlife, coyotes, red-tailed hawks, etc - although I'd love to), give them grass clippings, spinach, mustard and turnip greens, watermelon, tomatoes, strawberries (whatever is leftover) and various other things for variety to keep them entertained as I have read on the posts.

Is there anything else that I could add? Any other suggestions on keeping them happy?