Huge wound on neck, what now?

wonderpup

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jan 3, 2011
NW Florida
So it's about 2am here and I had to get up and let the dog out to potty. Standing on the back porch I notice that one of the girls is on top of her coop rather than IN her coop. My husband is the one who took care of the birds this evening and he fed, watered, and locked them in for the night. Apparently he somehow missed one. Anyway I let the dogs do their thing and put then away and then went to retrieve Lacey off the top of the coop. That would be when I saw what I thought was a big hole in her neck. OMG! I picked her up and took her inside where I could get a better look in the light. It's not a hole. It's looks like something tried to rip her head right off and wasn't successful. The skin is pulled back right down the muscle I think on the back of her beck. It looks like muscle. I could probably put at least a quarter in the wound. I am a total newbie these are my first chickens and they are 7 months old. I took her out into my garage where I have a big tub with a hose and cleaned the wound with warm water. It had a lot of dirt in it but is not at all bloody. There looks like there is a darker area that maybe is a scab in the middle of her neck? I didn't want to mess tooooo much with it b/c I wasn't really certain what to do in the first place and I am a bit on the queasy side tonight and was afraid I'd throw up or pass out. I sprayed a spritz of colloidal silver spray that I have and use on doggie cuts and scraps on the wound and then put an antibiotic ointment on it making sure to get it all inside and under where the skin had been ripped away. I don't know what else to do. This is probably out of my league so I guess I will be calling around trying to find a vet who will treat a chicken. I don't know of any off the top of my head.
sad.png