1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Humanity Disgusts Me

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by paramedic07, May 20, 2011.

1. paramedic07

paramedic07 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    Bergman, AR
    I Posted On A Post About What Some Hatcheries Do With Their Extra Chicks. To See A Reference To Grinding Uplive Chicks Or Burning Them Alive Is Just Disgusting. I'm A Paramedic Of Over 8 Years On The Streets And That Bothers Me. Just Because They're Cockerels. Humanity Is So Darn Wasteful.

They Could Be Given Out To Or Sold To The Government Or People Growing Them Out For The Government Or People Growing Them Out For Need Based Programs To Grow Them Out And Give Them Time To Live And Then Be Humanely Turned Into Dinner For Those In Need. Think Of The Number Of People That Could Be Feed In This Country That Way.

Then You Think Of The All The Grocery Stores From Walmart To The Corner Neighborhood Grocery Store That Throw Away Food From All Over The Store From Milk To Procduce To The Deli. All That Could Be Frozen Or Prserved Somehow And Given To Need Based Programs. Nope, It All Gets Thrown Away.

Humanity Digusts Me Too Darn Often.

2. chickened

chickened Overrun With Chickens

Oct 2, 2010
    western Oregon
    I know of no hatchery in the U.S. that does that they usually gas the roosters and throw them away.

3. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer

May 11, 2010
    You'd think hatcheries would caponize the cockerels and offer them as an alternative source of food.

4. chickened

chickened Overrun With Chickens

Oct 2, 2010
    western Oregon
    I think they would if it were profitable. I used to buy them for 25 cents raise them to 5 months and sell them in the Asian markets but high feed cost stopped that. a few years ago.

5. PotterWatch