Humidity fluctuating for Runner Ducks

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Newduckmommy1221, Sep 25, 2018.

1. Newduckmommy1221

Newduckmommy1221 In the Brooder

Sep 25, 2018
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi everyone, I’m new to the incubating egg world. I have a hone daycare and thought it would be a nice and neat idea for the kids to see how the hatching process of a duckling is and so I decided to get an incubator (farm innovators 2450 circulated air) and picked up 12 fertile runner duck eggs from a local farm. I’m going into day 3 now and I’ve just been noticing that the humidity RH is fluctuating between 55%-65% it won’t ever go above 65% but it’s staying more between the 60s... is this bad for the embryo? I’m nervous that it can damage or reduce the rate of hatchability!! I’ve opened one air ventilator to let out some humidity and it works for only a period of time, the humidity drops to 59% and then when I put the air vent back on it quickly jumps back up to 62 or 63%. The temp is still at 99.5F it’s just maintaining the humidity I’m having a hard time doing. On day 2 in the morning, I went to go check on their leaves and their humidity was at 40%!!!! I freaked!!! I immediately added 1/4-1/2cup of warm water with a baster and the humidity started going up but stayed at around 60-64% throughout the entire day... help!!!

2. oregonkat

oregonkat Crowing

Oct 5, 2012
    Southern Oregon
    You do not want your humidity to be higher than about 40% in the first weeks of incubation before you lockdown before hatch. Humidity that is too high prevents the air cell in the egg from expanding as it should and it also can cause the chick to grow too large. You are in the early days yet so lower your humidity!!
    Read this: https://www.backyardchickens.com/th...y-sunshine-bantychooks.1046313/#post-16038469 or other incubating threads on here.