Humidity levels?

Jasori

In the Brooder
Oct 4, 2022
The incubator I bought says to try to keep the humidity at 50% for the first 18 days, then raise it to I believe 65% for the last 3 days. I've been adding water to the reservoir pretty much daily but it still is struggling to get to 50%. Most times it's around 40%. Is this ok? I've recently read about "dry incubating" which makes me think it should be fine, but this is my first time incubating eggs so I'm looking for some guidance. Please and thank yall:)

It is the built in one, and I haven't calibrated it or made any adjustments. Would anywhere between the dry incubating range of 15% up to what was on the instructions(50%) be fine?

You really need to get an independent hygrometer and 'salt test' calibrate it, so you will know exactly what %Rh is in the incubator. The sensors that are built - in to most of the foam or cheaper incubators are horribley inaccurate. Chicken eggs do best with a range of 35 to 45% Rh for the first 18 days, being raised to 55 to 60% for the final 3 or 4 days of incubation.
Accurite makes an affordable, accurate hygrometer, that you can get from Walmart for around $9 to $11 bucks. Very easy to salt test calibrate.

All electronics out of the box should be suspect. Never take readings as gospel.

You really need to get an independent hygrometer and 'salt test' calibrate it, so you will know exactly what %Rh is in the incubator. The sensors that are built - in to most of the foam or cheaper incubators are horribley inaccurate. Chicken eggs do best with a range of 35 to 45% Rh for the first 18 days, being raised to 55 to 60% for the final 3 or 4 days of incubation.
Accurite makes an affordable, accurate hygrometer, that you can get from Walmart for around $9 to $11 bucks. Very easy to salt test calibrate.
I beg to differ on the Accurite. Yours may have been OK but I've had two of them and one was stuck at 45% forever, whether actual was 30% or 90%