1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

humidity to high

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by horseshoenail, Mar 23, 2015.

1. horseshoenail

horseshoenail Out Of The Brooder

Feb 6, 2015
    Three Rivers Tx
    This is my first time with Incubating eggs and my humidity has stayed around 60 and I have read 45 is the target. This is the fifth day and the sun is out so it should change .The incubator has a fan . do I have a problem

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Take out all the water and let it dry incubate for a few days. Incubators should not be near windows ans sun. Also what are you using for a hygrometer? They are rarely accurate but a salt test will tell you how far off it reads. Humidity numbers don't mean much if the unit is reading 10% high or low.

Salt test:

Quart zip seal bag (if small hygrometer sandwich size), milk cap or similar size cap, salt and bit of water.

Fill cap with salt.
    Add drops of water until it is like wet sand not a slurry.
    Put hygrometer and cap in the zip bag and seal with good amount of air inside.
    Wait 6 hours and note your hygrometer reading the salt enviornment will be exactly 75%
    Write on masking tap how much the calibration is (difference of your reading and 75%) and tape it to your incubator as a reminder.