Humidty Help please!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mooSa, Sep 17, 2009.

1. mooSa

mooSa Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2009
    Ok, so this is my first time incubating eggs. Its been 4 days so far in the 1502 sportsman incubator. I just wanted to ask what humidty i should use.

I have been going with 60-65% on first 17 days and 80-85% on last three days. And i looked around through posts and i see everyone putting lower humidty. So I would like to know if I am doing anything wrong. Thanks

I have my inc stable at 99.5 F - Outdoor temp 76-78 F

2. mschickychick

mschickychick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 2, 2009
    Mississippi
    I start out more like 40-45% then go to 60-65% the last few days. When the eggs start hatching there will be added moisture and that will drive your humidity up. Hope this helps.

Good hatching vibes coming your way.

3. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    Congrats and welcome! mschickychick is correct. I'm assuming you're hatching chickens... if you're hatching ducks then your current humidity is correct.

Good luck with the hatch! The first time is so much fun. Every time is fun!

4. mulia24

mulia24 Chillin' With My Peeps

ups, you should lower it as 40-50 on first 18 days and 65-80 on last 3 days.

but hope they will make it. [​IMG]

5. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress