SelcouthLynn

Hatching
Oct 19, 2018
12:50 pm

Good Afternoon Friends,

I am new to owning chickens. I’ve had my girls Shannon, Peep and May for approximately 6 months. My girls recently started laying eggs as of Tuesday this week. I have some concerns to this.

How do I know the eggs are safe for consumption? I’ve researched this topic for a while but haven’t found a solid answer. My girls are organic fed to my believe. They are fed “DuMor poultry. 16% Layer Feed ‘Crumble’ with Calcium Fortified inside!”, as well as vegetable and Fruit scraps we have. Two of my girls are Barred Rock and one is a Buff Orpington.

With the laying situation they have a functional coop with insulation but they keep digging holes by the exit and laying there. They try to run out of their coop/open area. There home is rather large and has everything they need, they just seem to want to get out. I would let them roam the area, but with coyotes and feral cats around I don’t wanna take that chance.

12:50 pm

Good Afternoon Friends,

I am new to owning chickens. I’ve had my girls Shannon, Peep and May for approximately 6 months. My girls recently started laying eggs as of Tuesday this week. I have some concerns to this.

How do I know the eggs are safe for consumption? I’ve researched this topic for a while but haven’t found a solid answer. My girls are organic fed to my believe. They are fed “DuMor poultry. 16% Layer Feed ‘Crumble’ with Calcium Fortified inside!”, as well as vegetable and Fruit scraps we have. Two of my girls are Barred Rock and one is a Buff Orpington.

With the laying situation they have a functional coop with insulation but they keep digging holes by the exit and laying there. They try to run out of their coop/open area. There home is rather large and has everything they need, they just seem to want to get out. I would let them roam the area, but with coyotes and feral cats around I don’t wanna take that chance.