I am a horrible chicken mama

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Stormy, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Stormy

Stormy Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2008
    South Carolina
    I am.

This morning I changed the 1 gallon water jug. I carefully (or so I thought) layed it back down over the pine shaving floor of the brooder.

This afternoon I went to change the water jug. Lying underneath the water container was one very dead yellow chick.

I truly began crying....and sobbing...and apologizing to the other 26 chicks who survived my stupidity.

From here on I am going to be an even carefuller (is that word?) chicken mama.

I have a college degree too....which obviously doesn't mean beans when it comes to being a good chicken mama.

2. risurocket

risurocket Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2008
    Wisconsin
    :aww I doubt that you are the only one to do that, so don't be too hard on yourself. Sounds like little yellow fuzz butts can hide pretty well in those shavings. I am sorry for your loss. [​IMG] hang in there, The other chicks will forgive you!

3. Emzyyy

Emzyyy Runs with Deer

Jul 14, 2008
    Derby Kansas
    Its okay.
    I had ducks that a wild mama duck abandoned and my dad and brother told me I put too big of a water conatainer in their cage but I didn't listen saying "They can swim though!, they like swimming." The water got too low while I was at school and they couldn't get out and they drowned I was mad at myself.

4. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    Stormy - someone else just did that about a week ago & had about the identical thread name to yours.

Accidents happen! If you'd done it on purpose, you'd be a bad chick mama. Those little babies are so fast - it was, truly, an accident.

5. Ladysonja

Ladysonja Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2008
    Porter, Texas
    Bless your Chicky heart -

Don't be so hard on yourself... Accidents do happen and the rest of the brood will forgive you.