I am a new member

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by patches948, Feb 13, 2011.

1. patches948

patches948 New Egg

Feb 13, 2011
    Although I am a new member to tje forum, I have been raising chickend for about 15 years. This winter my hens just stopped laying. I have 10 hens and 3 rooster and I have a light in the coop as I have done for years. I have never had them just stop laying so suddenly. They are black australorp and buffs and they are just over 3 years old. I usually order new chicks about every 2 years, but did not last year. And I have 2 or 3 other hens but are much older, one of which is an EE and she is about 12 years old and I was still getting an egg or 2 a week from her back in the summer. Any ideas what I can do or what might be wrong.

2. joyous

joyous Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 3, 2009
    Davenport, Iowa
    First of all Welcome![​IMG], second, I have only had chickens for two winters. last year they never stopped laying and this year they just stopped in January! I thought maybe I had a rat or something, but gradually they are starting to lay again...maybe something different about the weather this year.

3. 3goodeggs

3goodeggs pays attention sporadically

May 22, 2009
    North Central Florida
    Welcome!
    Mine stopped too. After a molt, they do not have enough energy to lay eggs and grow feathers. Also, the short day lengths stop the ovulation process.
    All will be well. I suppose because you always had young hens in the ranks, you always had some eggs.

4. Cacciatore

Cacciatore Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 19, 2011
    San Pablo, CA
    Welcome from Northern California. [​IMG] My older hens will stop laying during the winter, but will start up again as the days get longer.

5. Wild Trapper

Wild Trapper Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 1, 2011
    Ohio