I am a terrible person and just killed a thriving chick thinking it was dead...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MisfitMarie, Dec 10, 2014.

1. MisfitMarie

MisfitMarie Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2014
    Portland, OR
    I put a dozen random pure bred eggs into my incubator awhile back. I'm fairly new to incubating. I skipped day 7 and figured that I would candle today, day 16, and then again before lockdown. I pulled out three clear eggs that had absolutely no sign of development. I pulled out a fourth that had a thick-looking ring around it and some wonky dark speckled marks about nickle-sized in diameter on one side of the egg that I had never seen in an egg before. I watched for a few minutes against the candling light, saw no movement, and assumed that, along with the ring, it was an early death.

I am an absolute idiot.

I took the eggs downstairs and proceeded to crack them open. Sure enough, the first three eggs spilled out pure yolk. No sign of anything having developed.

Then, I cracked open the fourth egg.

What I spilled out onto the plate was a live chick, not fully developed. It was twitching, moving, probably reacting to being opened up. The odd dark specks that I thought might have been some weird bacteria? They were feathers, tiny little black starts of feathers. Having only hatched darker eggs up until this point (but many of them), I must have been thrown off by the tiny red leghorn inside of a light white egg. He must have had his back pressed up against the shell. And the funky thick red thing? I have no idea... seemed to develop despite that.

I was mortified... and pretty positive, at that point, there was no way to take back what I had I done.

I have been carrying this sick, heavy feeling around all day. I wanted to cry... I'm sitting here at work still thinking about it.

I don't ever want to remove "bad" eggs from the incubator again. Granted, I don't want any exploding inside, either.