I am clueless about what to do about my Silkies who I think may have Gapeworm :(

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Freejjo, Dec 17, 2014.

1. Freejjo

Freejjo Out Of The Brooder

Dec 17, 2014
    Australia Brisbane
    I have never needed to deal with a worm in my Silkies as I am fairly new to owning a chicken. Recently, welost one of our Silkies who appeared to be sticking out her head, opening her mouth wide and lifting her tail up whenever she tried to breathe. We later found her dead on the ground. I am really worried about what happened and decided to ask here about what I can do to prevent it spreading. We have a fenced off area behind out house with what I think are Turkeys. At first i thought it couldn'e be Gapeworm but just today I woke up to find we had lost another one. I have no idea what type of worming agent we should use and want to stop the worms before they reach our other chickens. I've done some research but all these different types of medications are confusing so I thought this community might be able to help us out :D

Thanks

Tam

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
  3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]We're glad to have you.

I'm sorry for your losses! My first guess would be that they have some sort of respiratory disease. Gapeworm is generally rare, but respiratory diseases are common, especially in the colder months.

4. Freejjo

Dec 17, 2014
    Australia Brisbane
    Thanks! Just moved it to the emergency section!

Thanks

Tam

5. Freejjo

Dec 17, 2014
    Australia Brisbane
    I thought that but we bought these hens at laying age and have had them for a few months now. They seemed to have no problems with breathing until last week where i first noticed the gulping. Whenever I picked them up they started breathing really heavily.