I am clueless about what to do about my Silkies who I think may have Gapeworm :(

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Freejjo, Dec 17, 2014.

1. Freejjo

Freejjo Out Of The Brooder

Dec 17, 2014
    Australia Brisbane
    I have never needed to deal with a worm in my Silkies as I am fairly new to owning a chicken. Recently, welost one of our Silkies who appeared to be sticking out her head, opening her mouth wide and lifting her tail up whenever she tried to breathe. We later found her dead on the ground. I am really worried about what happened and decided to ask here about what I can do to prevent it spreading. We have a fenced off area behind out house with what I think are Turkeys. At first i thought it couldn'e be Gapeworm but just today I woke up to find we had lost another one. I have no idea what type of worming agent we should use and want to stop the worms before they reach our other chickens. I've done some research but all these different types of medications are confusing so I thought this community might be able to help us out :D I live in Brisbane so if that helps...

Thanks

Tam

2. gabbychickens44

gabbychickens44 New Egg

Dec 17, 2014
    Hi! I'm Gabby and I live in San Francisco. I have a friend who lives in Brisbane too!

So sorry to hear about your Silkies. You should consider moving the rest of the flock to a safe place, such as another part of the yard thats clean. Wash all of their food/water containers w/ hot, soapy water (to make sure there's no bacteria) and clean the bedding for their roosting area. there's Chicken Wormer that kills and stops the cycle of worms inside a chicken. http://poultrykeeper.com/general-chickens/worming-chickens can give you more info. Chicken Wormer is available online, so you can get it there!

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio