I am going to buy an incubator. What kind please?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Dilly, Apr 28, 2008.

1. Dilly

Dilly Cooped Up

Apr 15, 2008
    Okay I am hooked chicken crazy and over the top.

I want to buy an incubator. I want it with all the bells and whistles. I want the auto turner so I do not have to open and mess with the eggs. I want the temp controlled. You know just add water and watch them grow type incubator.

Please any suggestions. I am completely new to all this so the simplier the batter.

Which kind and where to purchase for best deal.

Here is the one I am thinking about getting, is this a good one? Hova-bator model 0720

https://www.gqfmfg.com/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=66

Thanks

Last edited: Apr 28, 2008
  2. equus2

equus2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dilly,

What is your price range?

The TX's run about $250-$400 (ebay/used versus new). Pretty much just set them up, check temp and humidity daily, add water every few days when the bottle runs out. They can only hold about 15 eggs. Thermometers/hygrometer will have to be calibrated, though, so you can trust you're getting good readings. (this is the case with ANY therm/hygro). Check the Lyon website, and you'll definitely get good advice here.

The Genesis Hovabator seems to be very popular, you can get one with turner for about $150. Temp is pre-set. I have two that are on the way, and bought them based on the advice I got here.

Whatever you do, don't buy a Tophatch!!!

And, be sure to get one that circulates air and has a turner.

Good luck, keep us posted.
    Lisa

3. Yogiman

Yogiman Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2008
    South Louisiana
    You've chosen an excellent bator but are you aware that the turner is for quail eggs? If you are hatching quails only it is fine. However, if you plan to hatch chicken eggs then you have a problem, I think.