I am just so excited, I HAVE to share! :D

goatkeepers

Songster
11 Years
Mar 31, 2008
Mooresville, NC
Well, DOH and I just candled the 12 mystery eggs we got from our neighbor and after our inspection, we have 5 eggs left in the 'bator. 3 for sure ones and two maybes. We should be at day 6. Out of the ones we discarded, 5 weren't fertilized (they were clear) and two had a blood ring. Since this is my very first time, I didn't get my hope up at all to find anything. My temps had been fluctuating a lot (more so in the first few days than now) and I didn't even know if any of them were fertilized...
I tried to get pics, but my camera wouldn't focus on the embryo.

Our air cells are about the size of a nickel and like I said, we're at day 6. The embryo is about the size of two peas. Is all that normal? Or should the embryo be bigger by now?

Thanks for bearing with me, I am still not getting my hopes up that any of them will hatch, but it sure is nice to see that we have something to work with now! I really need this. (I just tried to raise 7 orphaned bunnies that someone found and after about 10 days, they died- I was and still am, devastated about that!) So yeah, if I can get the three (that I am sure about them being alive) to hatch, I will be THRILLED!
yippiechickie.gif

Last edited:
Good luck-don't get to discouraged if it doesn't work out. Just try again if you don't have as good of a hatch as you'd like.
smile.png

I do hope your eggs will hatch !! It is so hard to have little creatures die when you are trying to keep them alive. I still feel horrible about the baby bird, and even worse over the hummingbird chicks!! Bunnies are so cute, that must have been really hard for you to have them die.