I am losing all my chicks :(

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Lady~Araucana, May 21, 2010.

1. Lady~Araucana

Lady~Araucana Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    Yesterday my husband found one of our 6 week SLW's dead in the larger brooder pen that we have. Then this morning we lost 3 more SLW's and 1 of our Black Jersey Giants. THey are all the same age and in the same pen seperated from the other chickens. I noticed that there was bloody poop on the ground and started doing some reading and i think they might have Cocci. I ran to TSC and got some Corid and started treatment. Got home later this evening and went to check on them and they all seem very sick but all were alive. Went back about a hour later and found another SLW had past [​IMG] . I am so afraid that i am going to lose them all. Is there anything else i can do, is it to late?

2. ryanhodapp

ryanhodapp Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    St. Louis
    I am new to chicks this year, but what about the medicated feed?

3. Lady~Araucana

May 17, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    They are on medicated Chick starter and have been since we brought them home. I am in shock as we have had chickens for many years and have never had this happen, i just went out and checked on them and another one of the SLW's was dead [​IMG] that is 6 SLW's and a BJG gone in 2 days. My heart breaks for them, i am wish there was more i could do!

4. KKatknap

KKatknap Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2009
    Albany, OR
    That's odd! I thought medicated chick feed specifically targeted cocci! Are you sure that's what they have? Do you see anything else besides the bloody poop?

ETA - I'm sorry this is happening to you! I can't imagine how sad that must be [​IMG]

Last edited: May 21, 2010
  5. Lady~Araucana

May 17, 2009
    Southern Illinois