I am new to chickens – please help me ID my new chickens

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by hoog, May 6, 2009.

1. hoog

hoog Chillin' With My Peeps

Within a week of buying my first house and by the way the first time I lived outside a city a lady from the church gave me a bunch of two day old chickens. I didn't know anything about them or their care but thanks to this website I haven't lost any due to neglect. I got fourteen of them on April 18th and they are growing unbelievably fast. My new place has a terrible tick problem so when I went to the feed store to buy more feed I also got some brown ones that the clerk said would eat tics and a big ugly white one. I took pictures of them and I was hoping to have them identified and sexed if possible.

Thanks in advance for your help.

[​IMG]
    This is a shot of a part of the flock settling for a nap in the grass.

[​IMG]
    This is the big white ugly one I bought with the brown ones. It was much bigger than the yellow chicks to start but now it is about the same size. It is my daughters favorite as you can see.

[​IMG]
    This is the brown tic eater that I bought. I had four originally but my German Shepherd gave one a "mouth hug".

[​IMG]
    This is one of the twelve chicks that were given to me. They are less that three weeks but they have wing and tail feathers already and have tripled in size. They started out bright yellow but now they are mostly white.

[​IMG]
    This is my son's favorite. It is a little bigger than the others but all twelve look the same. I started with 14 one was eaten by the Jack Russell who has since learned not to mess with them and the other was born gimp and starving to death so I fed it to my Boa Constrictor.

Anyway, that’s the flock, thanks for looking and commenting.

Last edited: May 6, 2009
  2. hypnofrogstevie

hypnofrogstevie chick magnet

Jul 12, 2007
    Newton NJ
    The big white one on the bottom looks like a cornish rock.

3. Omran