I am new to chickens... need a little advice on behaviours & feeding!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Mackland, Jun 9, 2009.

1. Mackland

Mackland In the Brooder

Jun 8, 2009
    Port Elizabeth
    Hi all
    I am in South Africa, and I have just got 2x Australorp hens. The one is 4 months old, and the other is 5 months old.
    I have noticed a number of sounds that I am trying to decipher. I can tell when they are pleased to see me - they run to the gate and make sqwarking sounds. But every now and again, they make a loud (very quick) PEEP noise. I get the feeling they are annoyed with somehting then? Is this correct?
    Another thing, I am having a hard time getting the right amount of food to them (they always seem hungry and I don't want to overfeed). I have the laying mix, and occasionally I add in a handfull of some hard corn mix during the day as they seem to like it. Also little treats like veggies and guavas. Tell me, what is the standard amount for 2 hens per day? Please work in cups, as I have no clue about working out ounces etc here [​IMG] I am feeding twice a day (breakfast and supper time)
    Okay, another question.. I will be getting 2x 1year old Orpington hens from a friend shortly as well. I guess it is okay to put them in the adjacent pen for a little bit and let them meet each other through the fence, and then put them together?
    Sorry for all the questions!
    Thanks
    Nadine

2. patyrdz

patyrdz The Madd Hatcher

Feb 26, 2009
    Southern Pines, NC
    Hi and [​IMG] from North Carolina!

The quick sound they make could be that they are annoyed or they sense a predator or threat around. Watch and see if they look toward the sky while doing this!