1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I am new to this - Chicken Hutch for eggs

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by herbyhempstead, Mar 23, 2011.

1. herbyhempstead

herbyhempstead New Egg

Mar 13, 2011
    My wife and I are thinking about getting a few chickens for eggs. Can we just use a Chicken Hutch?
    hffinc.com/01490WB-Chicken_Hutch.jpg

Thanks. We are below rookies right now when it comes to this.

- John

2. CelticOaksFarm

CelticOaksFarm Family owned, family run

Sep 7, 2009
    Florida - Space Coast
    Hi John, first [​IMG]

Now can you tell us more?
    Where do you live?
    How many/what breeds do you hope to have?
    Will you free range or build a run?

The hutch is cute, would make a good grow out coop, not sure it is adequate for full grown hens though. Look forward to your answers.

3. crj

crj Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2009
    Rocky Point, NC
    Hi John, Welcome. Are you from Hempstead, NY? I couldn't figure out how to see the hutch. You may want to look at some of the coop designs. It might give you an idea of what you will need for your chickens. I don't know how many you are looking to get or what kind. I'm sure you just want a basic chicken that lays a nice size egg. LOL..... thing is, there are so many of those chickens to choose from. Have fun figuring out what you will get.

4. herbyhempstead

herbyhempstead New Egg

Mar 13, 2011
    3-4 chickens is what we plan on getting. Can we just use a Chicken Hutch like that and let them run around in the yard?

Not in Hempstead, NY, Northern KY.

Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  5. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Welcome to the forum!

I can't get the link to work, either. Did you mean these coops?