I am RECONSIDERING all of this "Natural chicken raising" Marek was disastorous for us!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Natalijaasbj, Oct 15, 2013.

1. Natalijaasbj

Natalijaasbj Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2012
    This is my first year of chicken keeping. I had 12 chickens. 7 hens and 5 roosters. We made sure we do nget it from the hatchery and went ahead researched about breeders around us. We found one wich many people reccomended. We got the chickens. Them around 3 months Marek's stroke.
    Our breeder chose not to vaccinate his chicks as they practice natural farming.
    We lost 3 hens so far to Marek's it was devastating. We can not "cull" them quickly so it was always a "hospital area in the garage and they die slowly. Now we have number 4 sitting there - .
    If I knew how devastating it may be - I would choose vaccinations for sure. I talked typ the local vet - he said - vaccinate for Marek for sure with the next ones. I WILL.
    jUST SEENG MY CHILD BEING SO UPSET OF DYING CHICKS IS HORRIBLE, wE SUPPOSED TO EAT EGGS ALREADY AND INSTEAD WE HAVE this.
    Just wanted to share our experience - may be someone there will be warned. Can not hear the people out there "protesting " vaccination of our children. Duh!
    Sorry for venting.
    My question is - if you went through the similar situation - your advice? Is vaccination going to be enough to protect my next generation of chicks?

2. Nutcase

Nutcase Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2012
    Australia
    My Coop
    I would vaccinate. I would also report the breeder and choose a new breeder. Sorry to hear about your loss.

3. Folly's place

Folly's place Chicken Obsessed

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan