I am soooo confused! Need help with all things duck, PLEASE!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by megg902, Jun 9, 2011.

1. megg902

megg902 Out Of The Brooder

May 24, 2011
    Bastrop
    OK, short version: I now have 2 baby ducks and no idea what to do with them.

Long version: The office building next to ours watched these 2 ducklings out in our back parking lot all day today, then they eventually moved towards the front lot and headed towards the road. There was never any mother seen and the ducklings seemed to be very hot (its about 97 outside right now) So when they got too close to the road for comfort they were caught.

There is no local water. Not even a wet ditch. We are in the middle of town for goodness sake. So where did they come from?? Possible mom was killed and they just wound up here?

I ended up with them because its known that I have chickens. I purchased my chicks at a day old and have raised them since but I have zero knowledge about ducks, other than that my husband hunts them. From reading some of the threads on here I see that it is not legal to have certian species in certian areas. And also I am sure there are some differences in raising ducks from chicks.

I dont mind keeping the ducklings if I am allowed but could use some guidence to get them through the first few days while I do some research about how to best care for them and if i can even keep them or not. Im including some pics to see if any of yall have any ideas about age or breed.... shot in the dark im sure....

Thanks in advance for any and all help!!!!!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Aww,

probably mallards, but I'm not the best at breed i.d.