I candled my eggs!

kelly

Songster
12 Years
Aug 15, 2007
This is my first try at this soooo I could be totally wrong. Out of my 8 RIR eggs I saw one with a blood circle in the middle so if I read right that means its dead. The other 7 looked good but I didn't see any movement, this is day 14. Do you usually see movement by this time? I hope I'm right and they all do OK, I'm so excited my heart is pounding!

Kelly

If you only see a blood circle and no nice spidery veins, yes, that means it's dead. However, if you are new to candling, I would crack open that one you are very sure is dead to be certain of what you think you're seeing. Don't just toss it. It's hard to see what you see sometimes, but think of it like a science experiment that will make you a better hatcher.
At Day 14, you would probably see movement, but not always. They do nap in there! You would see an egg mostly filled up with the very dark embryo and perhaps a little veining at the edge of the dark blob.
I LOVE candling! It's so much fun, isn't it?

Last edited:
im on day 7 and they are wiggling all over the place and i can see the veins very clear i have white eggs so its easy
jumpy.gif
cant wait till hatch day

Thanks everyone. I think I'll just leave them alone. I could see air sacks (I guess they are called) on the end and the rest of the area was dark, so I'll cross my fingers and toes and just wait. Boy this is rough!

Kelly

I candled my eggs again this time it looks like 4 good and 4 bad. I'm leaving them all but they are numbered so I'm keeping track of which were bad and etc. to see how it turns out. They should hatch about Tues. but I know thats not exact.

Kelly