1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

I can't control the humidity in my incubator!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dreanat, May 12, 2010.

1. dreanat

dreanat Hatching

May 12, 2010
    Help! I'm a teacher and this is the second year I'm hatching eggs with my class. I'm using the same incubator as I did last year. It's a still air incubator. The guide says to set it up so that the dry bulb is 100 degrees and the wet bulb reads 86 degrees. For the first couple of days after I set the eggs, the readings were fine.
    Last year, I came back after a weekend and noticed that all the water had evaporated before I could refill it. This year, I was proactive and put some more water in the water well (which is supposed to distribute water whenever the water level is low) before the weekend. Well, I came back on Monday and the wet bulb reading read 98 degrees! I can't seem to bring it down. I'm not sure if I have to add more water to the incubator or take some water out for the reading to go back down to 86. I've tried both, but it just seems to stay where it is.
    Will this affect my eggs? I've candled some and it looks like dark spots are moving around in there. I just don't want them to drown when they try to pip. I've heard that some people have just sprinkled water on the eggs, they don't need that much humidity. Btw, the dry bulb temperature has been constant - 100 degrees. Any advice?

2. silkiechick05

silkiechick05 Songster

Sep 27, 2009
    North Texas
    I wish I could help...

BUMP

3. medan

medan Songster

Apr 1, 2010